Nominated to publish Scientific Book Chapter
오늘 교수님과의 연구미팅이 끝나고 나서 메일 확인을 하는데 아래와 같은 내용의 메일이 왔다.
Dear Dr. Na,
My name is Vedran Kordic and I am contacting you regarding the In-Tech new book project under the working title “Solid State Circuits Technologies”, ISBN 978-953-7619-X-X.
Based on your paper “1.8mW, hybrid-pipelined H.264/AVC decoder for mobile devices” you are nominated to submit proposal for the book chapter. You are however neither limited to the paper topic nor we are asking you to republish the above paper. This paper served as a proof that you are doing a high quality research.
내용인 즉은, 내가 쓴 논문을 보고 책의 한 chapter를 쓰는 proposal을 제출하는 것에 nominate되었다는 것이다.
논문은 내가 high quality research를 하고 있다는 증거자료일뿐 논문을 다시 publish하는 것은 아니란다.
연구를 어느 정도 하다보니깐 이런 제의도 들어오는구나 생각되었다.
나의 resume에 한줄 추가할 수 있겠구나란 생각도 들고, 100만원이라는 짭잘한 수입도 있고.
실은 잘못 봤다. 돈을 준다는게 아니라 470유로를 fee로 받는 다는 것이었다.
일종의 scam인 것 같다. 다들 속지 않게 조심하시길…
하지만 어디까지나 nominate된 것이지 확정은 아니니 김칫국 마실 필요는 없을듯 하다.
일단 4월 20일까지 proposal 써보고 제출한다음에 결정해야지.
접때 영국 로또 처럼 당하는건 아닌 것 같다.
(아니긴~~ 뭐가 아녀~ ;;;;;)
아래 사이트는 출판사 링크.
P.S 위에서 업급된 나의 논문은 다음 링크에서 확인 가능하다.
http://vswww.kaist.ac.kr/~skna/p4.pdf
자꾸 이 포스팅을 수정하게 되는데….
메일을 보낸 사람한테 scam이 아니냐는 메일을 보냈더니 버럭 화를 내면서 아래와 같은 메일을 다시 보내왔다.
I read this too and attached a short replay to the accusation of one person never worked or cooperate with us on any project.
He never even contact me. If you read the comments carefully you can get an impression of the person behind this post and his intentions.IN-TECH publishes scientific books on a open access basis. From www.intechweb.org you can access more then 70 books, all of these materials are given for free download. I do not think that one text of one unknown person can destroy the results we get in a past few years. These books are not SCAM, they are real and on a pretty high level.
무엇이 진실인지는 모르겠으나, 어쨌든 책을 내는데 470유로나 내야 한다면,
난 사양해야 할 것 같다.
Dr. Na
I got same email from him.
I found your link with some keywards in his email.
See the below.
http://www.velamparambil.com/2009/03/16/scientific-book-publishing-the-new-nigerian-scam/#more-64
Enoch
3월 25, 2009 at 4:46 오후
IntechWeb is allegedly based in Vienna. In fact, it is an organization established in Croatia.
The service of this company is the subject of numerous complaints on the web. They send spam to all authors of scientific articles found randomly on the Internet to offer their “services”.
The way this company works is the same: a message is sent to an author found randomly on the web saying he was “selected” to write a chapter book to be published soon. He has simply to pay $600 (460 Euros) for each book chapter that will be submitted.
This trick to ask for money to authors randomly selected has been compared to a “Nigerian fraud of scientific publication.”
Mark Wilson
7월 21, 2009 at 12:46 오후
470유로 내라는 말 아닌가요?
dd
3월 25, 2009 at 5:27 오후
네~ 속았습니다.
470 유로 내고 publish하라는 거군요…
scam의 일종인것 같아서 저한테 메일 보낸 분한테
다시 메일 보냈습니다만….
nass0131
3월 25, 2009 at 5:40 오후
저도 같은 메일을 받았습니다.
논문분야가 틀려서 그런지 다른 분야의 북 챕터로..
이사람 메일을 막 뿌리나부네요 -_-;;
ninny
4월 23, 2009 at 4:55 오후
Dear Friend,
I also got the mail from this guy.
Is it really a scam?
I am afraid of being trapped in the scam.
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Ramesh Pokharel
8월 9, 2009 at 7:08 오후